Skip Navigation

Sarah D. Barder Fellowship

Each year, CTY students who live in California, Nevada, and Maryland and who attended a CTY summer program or enrolled in a CTY online program the previous year are invited to nominate a teacher for recognition as an outstanding educator. These nominated teachers are then invited to apply to the fellows program. A committee of CTY educators reviews the applications and selects 10 to 15 teachers for recognition. The class year is determined by the calendar year in which the teacher is nominated. Teachers honored at the 2018 Sarah D. Barder Conference were nominated in 2017. The Class of 2017 Sarah D. Barder Fellows are listed below.

Class of 2017 Sarah D. Barder Fellows

Linda Cline, Carlton Elementary School, San Jose, CA

Daniel Figueroa, New Roads School, Santa Monica, CA

Marie-Therese Ford, Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (Distance Educator), Youngwood, PA

Christen Hernandez, National Cathedral School, Washington, DC

Mary Hylbom, Arroyo Vista Elementary School, South Pasadena, CA

Kathleen Jalalpour, Keys School, Palo Alto, CA

Alice Lee, Fairmont Private School, North Tustin, CA 

Lee Mescolotto, Harriton High School, Rosemont, PA

Tom Robinson, Apex Learning Virtual School, Seattle, WA

William Truong, Valencia High School, Placentia, CA