Skip Navigation

About JHU

Johns Hopkins was founded as the nation’s first research university on the principle that pursuing big ideas and sharing knowledge makes the world a better place. The university has approximately 6,500 faculty, 6,200 undergraduate students and 17,600 graduate students arrayed across 230 degree programs at the baccalaureate, masters and doctoral levels. Perennially ranked as the nation’s leader in annual research expenditures, the university has consistently achieved this standard through excellent academic leadership, committed faculty and students, innovative international programs, high levels of collegiality and exceptional interdisciplinary collaboration. In the past five years, federal research awards and expenditures have grown from $2.6 billion to $2.9 billion. The university’s endowment is approximately $3.3 billion.


Ronald J. Daniels is the 14th president of Johns Hopkins University and is a professor in the Department of Political Science. Prior to his appointment he was provost at the University of Pennsylvania, and before that, Dean and James M. Tory Professor of Law at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law. Since taking office in 2009, President Daniels has focused his leadership on three overarching themes: enhanced interdisciplinary collaboration, individual excellence, and community engagement. These themes are the backbone of Ten by Twenty, the university’s strategic vision through 2020, and underscore the priorities of Rising to the Challenge, Johns Hopkins’ largest-ever fundraising campaign, which has exceeded its $5 billion goal.

Sunil Kumar took office as the university’s 15th provost on September 1, 2016. He previously served as dean of the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, and before that spent 14 years on the faculty of the Stanford University Graduate School of Business, where he had earlier served as senior associate dean for academic affairs. As the chief academic officer and second-ranking member of the senior administration, Provost Kumar is responsible for promoting and coordinating the university’s teaching and research mission. He oversees the university’s nine schools as well as several interdisciplinary programs and academic centers, including CTY.